Connect Hosts Two Community Visioning Workshops

By | Uncategorized

Taking place on August 29 th and 30 th and open to all

The Connect Athens Steering Committees will host their first round of public workshops on August 29th and 30th, from 6 to 8pm at the Athens-Clarke County Planning Department. The workshops are open to anyone and will combine information about the process with an interactive mapping activity to determine preliminary opportunities for the corridors. The Steering Committees encourage members of the community to register for the workshops. This is not required but requested to help the Planning Team to prepare for the events.

Whether you live on one of the corridors, own a business or simply travel them every day, it should be clear just how vital these connections are to Athens. Developing a collective vision for the corridors based on the feedback of the community can be a significant driver of prosperity. This vision will create better, more diverse places while continuing to improve mobility within the community. Join the Steering Committees, Planning Team and ACCUG officials on August 29th and 30th for the Community Visioning Workshops.

Community Visioning Workshops:

Lexington Road Visioning Workshop
August 29, 6 to 8pm
Athens-Clarke County Planning Department
120 W. Dougherty Street, Athens, GA 30601

Atlanta Highway Visioning Workshop
August 30, 6 to 8pm
Athens-Clarke County Planning Department
120 W. Dougherty Street, Athens, GA 30601

Steering Committee Roster

By | Uncategorized

Each corridor’s planning process is being led by a 12-member Steering Committee made up of stakeholders and community representatives. These groups will help guide the public process and craft the plan’s recommendations.

Atlanta Hwy. Steering Committee

Jerry Nesmith
Mike Hamby
Lucy Rowland
Oonagh Benson
Brian Waldner
Leslie Lawson
Carla Braswell
Marissa Chastain
Dusty Gunn
Pam Spahr
Margaret Lightfoot
John Aitkens
Jim Scanlon

Lexington Rd. Steering Committee

Sharyn Dickerson
Mariah Parker
Andy Herod
Maxine Easom
Hank Joiner
Ryan Worsley
Carl Nichols
David Spooner
Diane Napier
Michael Myers
Christine Thornton
Mike Tuggle
Robert Miles